Despite what other people may say, life in Sweden is very like life in the U.S.A. The societies of both nations have more in common than not. There are, of course, important and noticeable divergences in language, governmental system, as well as cultural and behavioral norms; however, things carry on here in almost the same manner as in my native country.

As I’ve mentioned before, I truly enjoy living in Sweden. It is similar enough to home that I am largely comfortable, yet different enough to keep me on my toes. Even so, there are some things I miss from the U.S. Allow me to reminisce as I list them for you.

  • Wal-Mart
  • Grape jelly/jam
  • Grape juice – Okay, technically I’ve found this one at my grocery store. I’m just not keen on paying 16SEK ($2.67) for one liter. What is that? Like 3 glasses of juice?
  • Cheddar cheese – Have seen this too, but it is crazy expensive. I miss my usual $2 for a 1/4 lbs block of Vermont Sharp Cheddar Cheese. Mmm…
  • Cereals like Cap’n Crunch, Cinnamon Toast Crunch, Fruity and Cocoa Pebbles (I feel like I’m channeling Seinfeld here…)
  • Pop Tarts
  • Kettle corn
  • Arby’s – Tell me they haven’t removed the “5 for $5.95” deal!
  • Sonic
  • Lower prices on everything in general

(Please note, some of these items may be available in Stockholm or in other parts of Sweden, but either cost is prohibitive or I have not been lucky enough to discover them yet.)

Hmm… almost all of my list is food. Familiar food is a comfort, after all. I miss it because it’s part of home.

Contrary to what my whining here may imply, there are many things about Sweden that I will miss when I’m back in the States. Look for a post on that topic coming soon!